League of Legends
Rating: 75 out of 100
Developer: Riot Games
Free to Play: Yes
Monthly Fee: No
  • League of Legends is one of the most popular free-to-play PC games around the world currently, with more than 30 million active players monthly. The game's beta tests began in 2009, and it grew surprisingly fast, as it is now the top PC game in most regions where it has an active server.

    LoL is based on the original DotA mod for Warcraft 3, with many differences and simplifications. The game has a persistent leveling system outside of matches, which are basically player profiles called "Summoners". Players earn experience and Influence points for their Summoner by playing matches. When they reach level 30 they become eligible for Ranked Solo/Duo 5vs5, Team 5vs5 or Team 3vs3 modes. These are split into Leagues, with every player's or team's first 10 Ranked matches being used for placement.

    There are four different game modes, they are: the traditional 5vs5 inspired by DoTA, 3vs3 with two lanes, Dominion, which is a 5vs5 conquest-style mode on a circular map, and finally ARAM, which means "All Random All Mid". Dominion and ARAM are excluded from the Ranked modes.

    Players can use the weekly 10 free-to-play Champions or buy their own with real money or the earned Influence points. These Champions have many different roles, such as Support, Marksman, Tank, Mage and more. The game's objective is to destroy the other team's towers and get to their main building, the Nexus. During the assaults they will kill enemy minions and champions, level up, buy items from the earned gold to become more powerful.
  • Coming Soon